Moana 7,000 times (I know your name)

“I have crossed the horizon to find you. I know your name. They have stolen the heart from inside you but this does not define you. This is not who you are. You know who you are. Who you truly are.”

These are the words Moana sings to a fire demon as she is tryin to restore its heart and they get me every time. It is my guaranteed ugly mom cry moment of the movie. I mean, aren’t they so Gospel?!

Part of our job description as a parent is to be able to watch the same movie several hundred (thousand) times a day, for weeks at a time with our sanity still in tact. Moana is that movie these days. A little background incase you haven’t seen the movie, It is a story of an Indian princess who goes on a mission to restore the heart of Te Fiti. Te Fiti was a beautiful goddess with a lush fruitful land but after her heart was stolen, all of her beauty left her and a fire demon (named Te Ka) was born; spreading it’s destruction throughout all of the earth.

At this point, Moana tells the Sea to let Te Ka come to her and the Sea Parts (Moana parts the sea! what?! I love it!), creating a path for Te Ka to get to Moana. Te Ka rages toward Moana and Moana just slowly walks toward her, singing these words “I have crossed the horizon to find you. I know your name. They have stolen the heart from inside you but this does not define you. This is not who you are. You know who you are. Who you truly are.” At this point Te Ka and Moana are literally face to face. Moana’s forehead is touching Te Ka’s. Te Ka closes her eyes ( almost as if she is surrendering) and lets Moana put her heart where it belongs. As soon as the heart is restored pieces of her burnt skin start the break apart and fall off to reveal her true identity, Te Fiti.

Wow, can we just sit here and let what just happened soak in for a second…… I mean goodness gracious, if this is not a picture of Jesus’ love, I don’t know what it is. There are so many parts of this I love, I can’t even take it.

God, your God will restore everything you lost; He’ll have compassion on you; He’ll come back and pick up the pieces from all the places where you were scattered. No matter how far away you end up, God will get you out of there. God will cut away the thick calluses on your heart and your children’s hearts, freeing you to love God with your whole heart and soul. (Deuteronomy 30:3-6)

The truth this story reveals:

Moana parts the Sea – Jesus makes a way for us. (Isaiah 43:16)

“I have crossed the horizon to find you.”  (Luke 1-10) If even just one sheep was lost would you not go search for him until you find him.

“I know your name.” (Luke 12:7) the very hairs on your head are numbered. (Isaiah 43:1-2) God calls you by your name. (Psalm 139:13) God has knit you together in your mother’s womb.

“They have stolen the heart from inside you but that does not define you.”- (Ephesians 2:10) you are God’s handiwork. (Jeremiah 1:5) before you were born I set you apart.

“This is not who you are.”- (Psalm 139:14) you are fearfully and wonderfully made. (Colossians 2:9-10) and in Christ you have been brought to fullness.

“You know who you are. Who you truly are.”-  (Galatians 3:26) in Christ you are a child of God through faith.

In the end, Te Fiti is completely restored to her original beauty and returns to her peaceful slumber. She even forgives the one who stole her heart. Are feeling broken, burnt out, abused, ripped off, maybe even mad about where you are in life or who you are in life? Jesus is walking toward you. He is not afraid or intimidated by your sin. Jesus came to restore your heart. I love how Te Ka closed her eyes and allowed Moana to restore her heart. She surrendered and said Yes. Saying Yes to the Lord is a daily choice. Yes, you can have my struggles. Yes, take my sin. Yes, help me forgive. Yes, I trust you with my heart, and Yes, I want you to restore my heart.  When you surrender your heart to the Lord all of those broken, dead pieces of you break apart and fall off.

I’m so thankful that the Lord reminded me of these truths through this movie. I love waiting on Him and watching Him Show up. Ask the Lord to show you something this week and then Wait and See.

Published by jesiebrowning

Jesie is a mom, wife, former professional dancer/owner of The Knoxville Dance Project. She is now dedicated to momming, wifeing, and sharing the truth and freedom found through following Jesus.

5 thoughts on “Moana 7,000 times (I know your name)

Leave a comment